Product detail

The Jewel (Lone City #1)

The Jewel (Lone City #1)

Author: Amy Ewing
Series: The Jewel Trilogy Ser.
$17.99(AUD)  inc GST
Description

New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing delivers a dark and riveting tale that "will have fans of Oliver's Delirium, Cass's The Selection, and DeStefano's Wither breathless."*

The Jewel has many meanings: wealth, beauty, royalty. But for Violet, the Jewel has always meant servitude.

Born and raised in the Marsh, Violet is destined for the Jewel. She is trained as a surrogate for the elite and is bought by the Duchess of the Lake at auction. And she quickly learns that beneath the Jewel's glittering fa ade lies the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her life...all while fighting for her survival. But before she can accept her fate, Violet meets a handsome boy who is also under the Duchess's control. A forbidden love sparks.

But their illicit affair has consequences, which will cost them both more than they bargained for. And toeing the line between being calculating and rebellious, Violet must decide what, and who, she is willing to risk for her own freedom.

*BCCB

Reviews

Dystopia with a feminist edge...hugely enjoyable, with strong characters and a nail-biting cliff-hanger. The Bookseller A very good dystopic tale with a brilliant ending that will leave you wanting to read the next instalment Loves Books Read Daily A shocking and compelling new YA series in a world where beauty and brutality collide -- Fiona Noble Bookseller Children's Guide WOW...truly unique. Horrifying and gripping all at once. COMPANY With echoes of The Handmaid's Tale, this is a fascinating fantasy. Marie Claire A fantastically original new fantasy which examines notions of identity and personhood against a lavish backdrop of opulent parties and riches galore. With dashes of magic, mystery and romance at every turn, there is real cross-genre appeal here and there is sure to be a large fan base once The Jewel hits the shelves. With a plot that is fresh and original and characters that are Intriguing, The Jewel is a brilliant debut, and one full of promise for a stunning series to develop. I, for one, cannot wait to see what else Ewing has to offer. We Love this Book Forbidden romance, life-threatening danger and a journey of terrible discoveries await in this thrilling opener to a daring, dynamic new series. Lancashire Evening Post Intriguing. Books for Keeps Compelling and heart pounding Bath Chronicle 'This dystopian, dark romance will appeal to fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games. Reading Zone This book is truly incredible. -- Reader Review The Guardian Online This is a really good book, full of suspense and a real page-turner. -- Anna Morrow Teen Titles

Author description

Amy Ewing is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in Writing for Children, and has a BA from New York University. The daughter and granddaughter of librarians, she is a self-confessed high-fantasy nerd who meant to be an actor, but found herself a writer. She lives in New York.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781406347494
  • : Walker Books, Limited
  • : Walker Books Ltd
  • : September 2014
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : September 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Amy Ewing
  • : Paperback
  • : 914
  • : en
  • : [Fic]
  • : 368